Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

KUP-Lausitz

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Forschungsprojekte

RENATUR: Improving regional policies to better protect the natural heritage of peri-urban open spaces

Peri-urbane Landschaften befinden sich an den äußeren Bereichen von Städten, häufig außerhalb ihrer Verwaltungsgrenzen. Bebauungsflächen wie Neubaugebiete, Freizeit- und Gewerbeflächen, kommunale Infrastruktur sowie stadtnahe Freiflächen wie Grünflächen, Brachflächen oder landwirtschaftliche Flächen finden sich hier.

Aufgrund der zunehmenden Urbanisierung und Investitionen nehmen die stadtnahen Freiflächen ab. Mit dem Rückgang geht das Naturerbe dieser Freiflächen, die Artenvielfalt und die Erholungsleistungen verloren.

Ziel des Projekts RENATUR ist es, auf die Bedeutung der Freiflächen in der urbanen-ländlichen Übergangszone aufmerksam zu machen, um sie zu bewahren. Zu diesem Zweck wurden Modellregionen ausgewählt, die ein großes Interesse an der Förderung und dem Schutz des Naturerbes der stadtnahen Freiräume in der Planungspraxis haben.

Kooperation

  • Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg (Deutschland),
  • Flämische Landagentur (Belgien)
  • BSC, Business Support Centre, Ltd., Kranj (Slowakei)
  • Hajdú-Bihar Kreisverwaltung (Ungarn)
  • Ministerium für Landesentwicklung und Verkehr des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt (Deutschland)
  • Universität des Baskenlandes (Spaien)
  • Masowien Entwicklungsagentur (Polen)

Projektlaufzeit: 01. August 2019 bis 31. Juli 2023


ECU-MAES: A National Ecosystem Services Assessment and Mapping for the status and future development of ecosystem services and biodiversity – a fast track study in Ecuador

Ecuador hat eine hohe Artenvielfalt und viele endemische Arten. Allerdings fand in Ecuador in den letzten 30 Jahren eine starke Entwaldung und ein Rückgang von Habitaten statt, so dass die Biodiversität und die Bereitstellung von Ökosystemleistungen kontinuierlich abnehmen. Derzeit gibt es nur sporadische empirische Studien zum Schutz der biologischen Vielfalt, die nur vereinzelt Aufschluss über die anhaltenden Verluste an Biodiversität und Ökosystemleistungen in Ecuador geben.

Das Projektziel ist die Kartierung und Bewertung der Kapazitäten von Ökosystemen zur Bereitstellung die regulierenden, versorgenden und kulturellen Ökosystemleistungen unter Änderungen in Klima und Landnutzung. Die Studie soll als Anlass für die tiefergehende Forschung und Kooperation mit ecuadorianischen Forschungsinstituten genommen werden. Kooperationspartner ist die Universidad Regional Amazónica (IKIAM)   .

Das Projekt wird vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) aus Mitteln der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) gefördert.

Projektlaufzeit: 01. Oktober 2019 bis 30. Juni 2021

Homepage   


PLEASE-SES: Implementing Landscape Ecology for Improved Sustainability and Societal Equity of Social-Ecological Systems in Sub-Saharan Africa

Unsere Motivation ist es, jungen afrikanischen Wissenschaftlern Kompetenztraining anzubieten und sie mit jungen deutschen Wissenschaftlern zusammenzubringen, um ihre Fähigkeiten zu verbessern, zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung beizutragen, und entsprechende Wissensnetzwerke in der Landschaftsökologie aufzubauen, um diese später in ihre Karriere und in die darauf basierenden Leistungen für die Gesellschaft zu integrieren. In unserer Workshop-Reihe werden wir drei kritische Themenblöcke ansprechen: (a) fundiertes Wissen über landschaftsökologische Prinzipien, Funktionsweise sozial-ökologischer Systeme, Modellierung und Folgenabschätzung (Sommerschule 1 im Jahr 2020), (b) Städte und Stadtentwicklung und wie landschaftsökologische Prinzipien zu ihrer nachhaltigen Entwicklung beitragen können (Sommerschule 2 im Jahr 2021) und (3) Prinzipien der ökologischen Governance als Schlüsselkonzept zur Verbesserung der nachhaltigen Entwicklung von Gesellschaften auf der Grundlage der gemeinsamen Entwicklung von Bottom-up, regulierender und finanzieller Instrumente.

Das Projekt wird von der Volkswagen Stiftung aus dem Programm “Wissen für morgen – Kooperative Forschungsvorhaben im sub-saharischen Afrika” gefördert.

Projektlaufzeit: 01. Juli 2020 bis 30. Juni 2022


   

Research, innovation and graduation for socio-ecological systems in motion (R4SES)

Finanzierung: BMBF, Koordination, seit 2018

[ mehr ... ]   

   

A Social-Ecological System Approach towards a Sustainable Intensification of Agricultural Production in Sub-Saharan Africa (SESASA)

EU-finanziert: A long term EU-Africa research and innovation partnership on food and nutrition security and sustainable agriculture (Leap-Agri)

Projektlaufzeit: 01 September 2018 bis 31 August 2021

[ mehr ... ]   


Abgeschlossene Projekte

INLAND: Innovative nachhaltige Umweltplanung für periurbane Landschaften

INLAND Project

INLAND Project

INLAND Project

Förderprogramm „Integration der Region Mittelost- und Südosteuropa in den Europäischen Forschungsraum“ (Bridge2ERA)

Gesamtziel des Vorhabens:
Bislang  adressieren politische Instrumente die Entwicklung der periurbane  Landschaften (PUL) nur unzulänglich, was informelle Siedlungsgebiete und  die Degradierung natürlicher Ökosysteme zur Folge hat. Letzten Endes  verlieren die PUL ihre Fähigkeit, zum Schutz der Artenvielfalt und dem  Angebot von Ökosystemleistungen (ÖSL) beizutragen. Viele Regionen in  mittel- und osteuropäischen Ländern sind von starker, nicht nachhaltiger  Urbanisierung be-troffen.

INLAND zielt darauf ab, (i) die  Forschungs- und Innovationssysteme in den mittel- und osteuropäischen  Ländern zu stärken, (ii) die Wissenschaft mit politischen und anderen  gesellschaftlichen Akteuren zu vernetzen und (iii) deren Integration in  europäische Forschungsprogramme zu fördern, damit sie ihr Forschungs-  und Innovationspotenzial ausschöpfen und ausweiten können. Gemeinsam mit  den Teilnehmern und als Grundlage für einen gemeinsamen Projektantrag  adressiert INLAND folgende Fragestellungen:

• Wie sind die PUL zu definieren und abzugrenzen?
• Wer sind die Planungsakteure und Interessenvertreter in PUL und wie können sie erreicht und involviert werden?
• Welche Planungsansätze gibt es für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung von PUL?
• Welche Arten von sozio-kulturellen Faktoren beeinflussen den Erfolg oder das Scheitern der Planungsan-sätze für PUL?

Projektlaufzeit: 01. Mai 2019 bis 31. Oktober 2020


INTEgrated Landscape Assessment for Sustainable Resource Management (INTERact)

Finanzierung durch BMBF, Koordination

[ mehr ... ]   

SERVICES (Social-ecological research and technological innovations for improved integration of cultural ecosystem services in participatory planning process)

Finanzierung: BMBF, Koordination

[ mehr ... ]   

Indikatoren zur Abschätzung von Vulnerabilität und Bewältigungspotenzialen am Beispiel wasserbezogener Naturgefahren in urbanen Räumen

[ mehr ... ]

Regional governance - Generierung regionaler Wirtschaftsnetze im Bereich der Biomassenutzung

[ mehr ... ]

Entwicklung einer Bewertungsmethode zur großflächigen Ermittlung fluglärmbedingter Wertverluste bei Wohneigentum

[ mehr ... ]

Entwicklung regionalisierter Leitbilder als Beitrag für eine nachhaltige Landschaftsentwicklung

[ mehr ... ]

Analyse von Schnittstellen zwischen formellen und informellen Gestaltungs- und Entwicklungsprozessen

[ mehr ... ]

Zum Seitenanfang

Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

KUP-Lausitz

Further settings

Login for editors

Research Projects

RENATUR: Improving regional policies to better protect the natural heritage of peri-urban open spaces

Peri-urban landscapes are located at peripheral locations of cities,  often beyond their administrative boundaries. Build-up areas, such as  new housing estates, leisure and industrial areas, communal  infrastructure as well as valuable peri-urban open spaces, such as green  spaces, brownfields or agricultural fields, can also be found here.

Due to increasing urbanisation and investments beyond the city  boundaries, these peri-urban open spaces are decreasing. With the  decrease, the natural heritage of these open spaces and thus  biodiversity, climate and air quality regulation as well as recreation  services are lost.

The aim of RENATUR project is to draw attention to the importance of  peri-urban open spaces and their natural heritage in order to preserve  it. For this purpose, model regions were selected, which have a great  interest in the promotion and protection of the natural heritage of the  peri-urban open spaces in planning practice.

Partnership

  • Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (Germany),
  • Flemish Land Agency (Belgium)
  • BSC, Business support centre, Ltd., Kranj (Slovakia)
  • Hajdú-Bihar County Government (Hungary)
  • Ministry for Regional Development and Transport of Saxony-Anhalt (Germany)
  • University of the Basque Country (Spain)
  • Mazovia Development Agency Plc (Poland)

Project duration: 01 August 2019 to 31 July 2023


ECU-MAES: A National Ecosystem Services Assessment and Mapping for the status and future development of ecosystem services and biodiversity – a fast track study in Ecuador

Ecuador is rich in biodiversity and endemic species. In contrast, high rates of forest decline and fragmentation were reported the last 30 years. Currently, just sporadic empirical studies on biological conservation exist which only give scattered insights into ongoing losses of biodiversity and ecosystem services in Ecuador.

The project goal is to conduct a joint mapping and assessment of the capacities of ecosystems that provide regulating, provisioning and cultural services as a fast track study to initiate ecosystem services assessments on national level and to deepening joint research activities on biodiversity and ecosystem services losses, their impacts and costs for Ecuador. The lokal cooperation partner is the Universidad Regional Amazónica (IKIAM).   

The project is funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) from funds of the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) GmbH on behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

Project duration: 01 October2019 to 30 June 2021

Homepage   


PLEASE-SES: Implementing Landscape Ecology for Improved Sustainability and Societal Equity of Social-Ecological Systems in Sub-Saharan Africa

Our motivation is to provide training for competences to young African scientists and partner them with young German scientists for enhancing their capacities to contribute toward a more sustainable development and build respective networks of knowledge in landscape ecology to later on integrate this in their careers and in their services to society. With our workshop series, we will address three critical thematic blocks: (a) fundamental knowledge on landscape ecological principles, social-ecological systems functioning, modelling and impact assessment (summer school 1 in 2020), (b) cities and urban development and how landscape ecological principles can contribute to their sustainable development (summer school 2 in 2021) and (3) principles of ecological governance as a key concept to enhance the sustainable development of societies based upon the joint development of bottom-up (community-based), regulatory and financial instruments.

This project is funded by Volkswagen Foundation of the programme "Knowledge for Tomorrow – Cooperative Research Projects in Sub-Saharan Africa".


INLAND: Innovative sustainable environmental planning for peri-urban landscapes

Funding program: Integration of the Central, Eastern and South Eastern European Region in the European Research Area (Bridge2ERA)

Overall objective of the project:

So far, political instruments have only poorly addressed the development of peri-urban landscapes (PULs), resulting in informal settlements and the degradation of natural ecosystems. Finally, PULs lose biodiversity and ecosystem services (ESR). Many regions in central and eastern European countries are affected by unsustainable urbanization.

INLAND aims to: (i) strengthen research and innovation in Central and Eastern European countries; (ii) link science with political and other societal actors; and (iii) integrate them into European research programs so that they can expand their research and innovation potential. INLAND addresses the following questions:

  • How should the PUL be defined and delineated?
  • Who are the planning actors and stakeholders in PUL and how can they be reached and involved?
  • What are the planning approaches for a sustainable development of PUL?
  • What types of socio-cultural factors influence the success or failure of planning approaches for PUL?

Project duration 01. May 2019 to 31. December 2020


   

Research, innovation and graduation for socio-ecological systems in motion (R4SES)

The Asia-Pacific Research Area (APRA) is the third largest research and  education area in the world next to Europe and North America, and its  importance is rapidly growing. The Federal Ministry of Education and  Research (BMBF) has been funding projects that focus on conceptual and  preparatory measures of German universities to establish joint research  presences with top research facilities in APRA. The aim of the program  is to support particularly the networking between German universities  and APRA countries and joint contribution to boosting the innovation  systems both in Germany and the partner countries for their mutual  benefit.

As an APRA funding project, the R4SES has a goal to develop sustainable  cooperation with leading institutions in APRA countries with the  thematic focus on research, innovation and education for societies in  transition.

Funding: BMBF, Coordination, since 2018

[ more ... ]   

   

A Social-Ecological System Approach towards a Sustainable Intensification of Agricultural Production in Sub-Saharan Africa (SESASA)

EU-funding: A long term EU-Africa research and innovation partnership on food and nutrition security and sustainable agriculture (Leap-Agri), coordination, since 2018

Project duration: 01 September 2018 to 31 August 2021

[ more ... ]   


Completed Projects

INTEgrated Landscape Assessment for Sustainable Resource Management (INTERact)

Funding: Federal Ministry of Education & Research (BMBF), coordination

[ more ... ]   

SERVICES (Social-ecological research and technological innovations for improved integration of cultural ecosystem services in participatory planning process)

Funding: Federal Ministry of Education & Research (BMBF), coordination

[ more ... ]   

Indikatoren zur Abschätzung von Vulnerabilität und Bewältigungspotenzialen am Beispiel wasserbezogener Naturgefahren in urbanen Räumen

[ more ... ]

Regional governance - Generierung regionaler Wirtschaftsnetze im Bereich der Biomassenutzung

[ more ... ]

Entwicklung einer Bewertungsmethode zur großflächigen Ermittlung fluglärmbedingter Wertverluste bei Wohneigentum

[ more ... ]

Entwicklung regionalisierter Leitbilder als Beitrag für eine nachhaltige Landschaftsentwicklung

[ more ... ]

Analyse von Schnittstellen zwischen formellen und informellen Gestaltungs- und Entwicklungsprozessen

[ more ... ]

Up